NICTD Board Members

NICTD is governed by a Board of Trustees representing the four Indiana counties served by the South Shore Line.
The Board welcomes your comments at any time.


board members

Michael Smith

Indiana Department of Transportation Commissioner

100 N. Senate Ave., IGCN 755

Indianapolis, IN 46204


Lake County

board members

Jerome Prince

Mayor of Gary

401 Broadway #203

Gary, IN 46402


Porter County

board members

Matt Murphy

Mayor of Valparaiso

166 Lincolnway

Valparaiso, IN  46383

(219) 462-1161 ext. 3303

LaPorte County

board members

Jim Arnold

LaPorte Community School Board of Trustees

5698 W. Johnson Rd.

LaPorte, IN 46350


St. Joseph County

board members

Carl Baxmeyer

Board of County Commissioners

227 W. Jefferson Blvd.

South Bend, IN 46601


2023 Board Meetings & Minutes

Board meetings are generally held at NICTD’s Administrative Office, 33 East U.S. Highway 12, Chesterton, Indiana. Standing dates and times may change. For a tentative schedule of meeting dates for this calendar year, please see below or contact NICTD at 219-926-5744.

Dune Park Station